ICON 2014 AWARDS: Shortlist unveiled


Icon reveals the nominees for the 2014 Icon Awards judged earlier this month at the BT Tower in London’s West Finish. The shortlist contains globally prominent architects and designers, along with emerging practices and technical and social innovators.

The winners – and the 2014 Icon of the Yr – will be announced at a ceremony on 4 December at St Mary’s Church in Marylebone, London. The winners will all get trophies developed by Anton Alvarez, made utilizing his thread-wrapping machine.


For a lot more particulars and to acquire tickets to attend the awards celebration, go to the Icon Awards site, iconmagazineawards.com.


Developing of the 12 months

Aspen Art Museum, Colorado, by Shigeru Ban Architects
Danish Maritime Museum, Helsingør, by Bjarke Ingels Group (Large)
FRAC Nord-Pas de Calais, Dunkirk, by Lacaton & Vassal
LSE Student Centre, London, by O’Donnell + Tuomey Architects
Museo Jumex, Mexico City, by David Chipperfield Architects

Architecture Practice of the Yr

Bjarke Ingels Group (Huge)
David Adjaye Associates
Haworth Tompkins Architects
Herzog & de Meuron

Style Studio of the Year

Barber Osgerby
Martino Gamper
Morag Myerscough
Studio Rygalik

Emerging Architecture Practice of the 12 months

Frida Escobedo
We Created That
Wise Architecture

Emerging Design Studio of the Yr

Kieren Jones
Nelly Ben Hayoun
Patrick Stevenson-Keating
Study O Transportable
Thorunn Arnadottir

Furnishings Layout of the Yr

Bodleian Library Chair by Barber Osgerby
Keystones by Minale-Maeda
Table and chairs by Office KGDVS
Tubo by Industrial Facility

Product Design and style of the Yr

Bloom security helmet by Toyo Safety
Bradley Timepiece by Eone
Chair 4 Life by Renfrew Group
Fortis Exoskeleton by Lockheed Martin
Mars Orbiter by Indian Space Analysis Organisation

Interior of the Yr

Bonhôte townhouse, London, by AOC
Markthal, Rotterdam, by MVRDV
Sam Wanamaker Playhouse, London, by Allies and Morrison
Tate Britain, London, by Caruso St John
Victoria Beckham retailer, London, by Farshid Moussavi

Socially Accountable Design and style of the 12 months

ABC syringe by David Swann
Clocksense by Frugal Digital
Natalie Collection by Laerdal Global Overall health
Moveable Eye Examination Kit (PEEK) by Peek Vision
SoftWheel by SoftWheel Ltd.

Technological innovation of the 12 months

Aakash UbiSlate 6Ci tablet by Datawind
Blackphone by Silent Circle
Citymapper app
Google speak to lenses
UltraRope by Kone

Icon Awards internet site, iconmagazineawards.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *